WARNING - When is 10,000 Miles NOT 10,000 Miles ???

General discussions related to MINIs and Minis

Have you had a problem with your 10,000 oil change?

Yes
8%
No
92%

Total votes: 13

TWabich

WARNING - When is 10,000 Miles NOT 10,000 Miles ???

Post by TWabich »

When it applies to an oil change.

We took M. Clive in today for his 10k oil change. His odometer showed 9,960 miles. Guess what, the oil service "counter" still showed 1,600 miles before he needed his oil changed and we were told to return when the "counter" had less than 1,000 miles to go.

I have been driving since 1964 and you know what, I learned something new today...

So save yourselves some time and watch the "counter" and NOT the odometer.

Bear :shock:
sundance
MINIAC
MINIAC

Post by sundance »

The reason I was told that the 1st oil change often goes beyond 10K is that the countdown computer bases the scheduled maintenance on fuel consumption and not actual mileage. I think most MINIs reach the "10K mile" countdown around 11K. It just means that you're getting slightly better fuel economy than projected.

The kicker is that when you get that first oil change, the countdown computer is reset and the next scheduled maintenance is in 15K more miles.

You can always pay for an unscheduled oil change and they are not supposed to reset the countdown computer for such unscheduled maintenance. This allows you to still receive the included "free" oil changes when the OBC counts down to 0 every time.
2006 John Cooper Works GP - Stock
quicksilver

Post by quicksilver »

I have never owned a vehicle that can go 15k miles before the second oil change...is that normal for a MINI? I guess I'm just used to my other oil-burning Fords... :(

We've only just hit the first maintenance trip about a month ago, so I always wonder when I see that 14,000 pop up on ignition...
cletus

Post by cletus »

quicksilver wrote:I have never owned a vehicle that can go 15k miles before the second oil change...