Need Help shrooms!

General discussions related to MINIs and Minis
ksminiman
MINIAC
MINIAC

Need Help shrooms!

Post by ksminiman »

I am a 3rd year automotive student however I have never dealt with something like the shrooming issue on a MINI. My car has significant shrooming on both driver and passenger sides. I just received my M7 plates I ordered and before attempting the 2X4 fix wanted to know if anyone in the area has done this before. I can probably figure it out however it is my new to me beloved MINI and I dont want to beat on her without knowing exactly how I should go about it. I have read both ways of either removing the bolts and lifting before striking as well as leaving the bolts on. What is usually done about the bent strut tower mount? will it pull back into place once the strut tower is pounded down and the plate is torqued into place? This whole thing makes me feel like I am playing with aluminum foil lol.

All help is greatly appreciated :D
Hi. My name is Tommy.
06 MCS named Yoshi, BRG/BRG, Panther black leather, LSD, Navigation, Cold Weather, Premium, Sport, and Convenience Packages. ALTA 15% V2, M7 STDs, 16" Rota RBs.
DA MINI
MINIAC
MINIAC

Re: Need Help shrooms!

Post by DA MINI »

You might look for help on NAM.
Mr. F56
Minidave
MINIAC
MINIAC

Post by Minidave »

How's bout a pic of the strut towers? I'd like to see how badly they've bent. Is your car lowered, or does it have aftermarket springs? Just curious.......
Hi! My name's Dave!

'09 LB/LB Clubman S - "Max"
89 Mini "Racing Green"
94 SPi Project (The Hot Rod)
ksminiman
MINIAC
MINIAC

Post by ksminiman »

I guess they are worse than I thought now that I have taken pictures of them. even so opinions? here they are:

passenger:

driver:

Hi. My name is Tommy.
06 MCS named Yoshi, BRG/BRG, Panther black leather, LSD, Navigation, Cold Weather, Premium, Sport, and Convenience Packages. ALTA 15% V2, M7 STDs, 16" Rota RBs.
Minidave
MINIAC
MINIAC

Post by Minidave »