Slipping clutch?

How-To and Pics of Mods to your MINI/Mini
montethemini

Slipping clutch?

Post by montethemini »

I am new to the mini world. I have recently purchased an '04 S. The car is mechanically sound as it only had 12,000 miles on it at the time of purchase. The thing that has me concerned is shifting into second and accelerating the car acts as if the clutch is slipping or possibly a fuel issue. There is a pulse in the acceleration or a pulse to the throttle. What has me confused is that it is only in second gear. Has anyone ran into this issue, offer any suggestions, or just tell me I'm crazy?
Zack
MINIAC
MINIAC

Re: Slipping clutch?

Post by Zack »

Turn off your DSC, and then try it.
Bruno - 2022 JCW
Former MINI's
2006 R53 Mini Cooper S
2011 R55 Mini Cooper Clubman
2013 R56 Mini Cooper S JCW
2008 R56 MINI Cooper S JCW
2014 R55 MINI JCW Clubman
2017 F56 MINI Cooper S JCW
IowaM1N1
MINIAC
MINIAC

Post by IowaM1N1 »

montethemini wrote:I am new to the mini world. I have recently purchased an '04 S. The car is mechanically sound as it only had 12,000 miles on it at the time of purchase. The thing that has me concerned is shifting into second and accelerating the car acts as if the clutch is slipping or possibly a fuel issue. There is a pulse in the acceleration or a pulse to the throttle. What has me confused is that it is only in second gear. Has anyone ran into this issue, offer any suggestions, or just tell me I'm crazy?
An '04 with only 12,000 miles? Wow! Congrats on finding that needle in the haystack!

Ultra-low mileage is a blessing and a curse. Eight years (or nine years?) of age with very little use can create all sorts of odd behavior. Dried out gaskets and seals, old fluids, dry-rotted rubber parts -- cars are made to be driven, so 'not' driving them long-term tends to create issues.

My personal strategy would be just to drive it for a while and see how things play out, keeping a very close eye on gaskets and seals looking for leaks.